Grateful Dead: April 13-14, 1985 – Irvine, CA

Here’s another early-1980s Grateful Dead “Road Trip” mp3 mix that finds an extensive convergence of exciting performances and inviting soundboard mixes. Plus, statistically significant events!

I already hit October 1985, so here we step back six months to April. The two official, whole-show releases from the year are from June and November.

2.5-hour mp3 mix zipped up here

Disc 1: April 13 (66 minutes)

  • Why Don’t We Do It in the Road
  • West LA Fadeaway
  • Little Red Rooster (edit)
  • Terrapin Station >
  • Playin’ in the Band
  • Drums
  • Space > 
  • The Wheel
  • It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue

Discs 2-3: April 14 (93 minutes)

  • Hell in a Bucket >
  • Sugaree
  • Down in the Bottom/Ain’t Superstitious
  • Brown-Eyed Women 
  • Big Railroad Blues
  • I Need a Miracle >
  • China Cat Sunflower > I Know You Rider
  • Women are Smarter
  • Space Jam >
  • Dear Mr. Fantasy >
  • The Other One
  • Sugar Magnolia
  • Gloria

Notes:

  • This may be the only instance of “Miracle” opening a 2nd set, and the only time it flowed into “China Cat.” Garcia’s voice is ragged on “China Cat.”
  • This is one of only four 1980s “Glorias.”
  • “Down in the Bottom” was played nine times, and “Ain’t Superstitious” eight times. They appeared together this way four times.
  • The band played “Do It in the Road” seven times.
  • Edits on this mix are limited to removing a second Weir slide solo from this otherwise fine and slinky “Rooster,” and skipping over a messy “Sunshine Daydream.” On the April 13th mix, you’ll hear a segue from “Drums” to “Space,” but that’s fake; I cut out the second half of drums. 
  • The April 14 SBD source I’ve used is one generation back from the latest, which has bigger dynamics, but which also includes a maddening, gargly defect. The 13th board mostly sounds great, but the “Terrapin” and “Wheel” vocals could have been handled more forthrightly. 
  • Cover art elements obviously swiped from Rick Griffin. 
16 responses
Looks good, but there is no link!
Fixed! Thanks for the heads up!
Thank you so much for your hard work. I find myself always going back to your edits. Please stay healthy and happy and willing to provide all of us with such amazing treasures.
Wow, Michael, what a supportive and kind comment. I'm glad you're finding my pile of mixes durably satisfying.
Thanks, John. This is another winner! I always look forward to your posts.
Thanks for this latest mix! Members of Black Flag were in attendance for the show on the 13th.
K, it's cool that they were interested! In 1985, I knew Black Flag far better than I knew the Dead.
It would be interesting to hear your mixes of the jams from Black Flag shows from their more fusion-inspired period in '84-85.
I would love to explore that Black Flag period! Are there a lot of recordings somewhere? I've got a 1985 instrumental show, but that's all.
That's a good question. I've come across bootlegs every so often, but I'm not sure if there is a single place like the Internet Archive where they've all been collected. I'll look around and see what I can find!
Thank you for sharing this wonderful music with us, some of my most cherished memories are from dead shows!! Love and Light sent ur way!
You're welcome, William!
4 visitors upvoted this post.