Sidetrips: Summer Evening (an eighties mixtape)

Since we’re heading into the season of the long, slow sunset, here’s a mix I created for that scenario 35 years ago. I was a prematurely sentimental-romantic-nostalgic type of person, about the finish college in Ann Arbor. The places I lived had exceptional views of the sunset. 

Started in 1985, the mix steadily expanded from one cassette to two-and-a-half-hours, then, around 2000, I sub-curated it into a single CD that I could burn. This is that version.

I and this mix are a mutually-reinforcing seasonal loop at this point. Is there an actual, coherent vibe that could work for anyone else in 2021? I have no idea. I make no excuses or apologies for this musical message from a different time (of me and the world). 

Try this for your own golden hour on some summer evening, and then make your own mixtape and share it back.

CD-length mp3 mix here

  • Spanish Moon (live): Little Feat
  • Fun to Be Happy: Love Tractor
  • Warm & Soothing: Kate Bush
  • Lions: Dire Straits
  • Orchid Girl: Aztec Camera
  • Wild Kingdom: Alex Chilton
  • The Ink in the Well: David Sylvian
  • Prisoners: The Rain Parade
  • North Star: Robert Fripp & Daryl Hall
  • In Your House: The Cure
  • Les Amoureux: Bill Nelson
  • Horizons: Genesis
  • Flesh #1: Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians
  • Thrasher: Neil Young
  • The Birth of the True: Aztec Camera
  • Evaporation: Shriekback
  • The Chauffeur: Duran Duran
  • Follow Me Home: Dire Straits
  • California: Joni Mitchell
  • The Charm of Transit: Bill Nelson

Cover: John Hilgart collage for the first cassette iteration of this mix, 1985.

14 responses
Looks great! Thanks for sharing this nostalgic piece of nostalgia.
I have a similarly curated double disc summer mixtape I made 22 years ago, not likely as exotic as your 35 year old one, but you did ask if others had ones to share them, but I wasn't sure you wanted them posted to the comments for your own summer mixtape or directly to you...If there is an email address I can send it to, I will then send you the Google Drive link to download mine. 😎
Fredrick! Absolutely feel free to post a description of and link to your summer mix in the comment here or on the relevant twitter post: https://twitter.com/4CPcomics/status/1387231724... Excited to hear it!
Lucky to have found you after a mention on Ira the K’s show on WFMU last night (he played Dream Syndicate’s cover of BOC’s Don’t Fear the Reaper). Loving the content and the mixtape above looks phenomenal. Just saw it, will give it a listen. Bill Nelson! Kate Bush! Fripp! David Sylvian!! Taking me waay back. Much obliged. ✌🏼
Hi, Stacey!
9 visitors upvoted this post.