Music for Spaceports: March 1994

This mix curates pieces of “Drums” and “Space” from the same March 1994 shows I surveyed to create this “Dark Star Flashes” mix, which combined the final two performances of “Dark Star” with other jamming from the same month. (Included shows are March 16, 18, 21, 23, 30, 31 - 1994.)

The 13 Drums/Space pieces I liked are presented here as discrete tracks (3 to 6 minutes each), with no editing other than choosing start and fade points and some volume adjustments. I was looking for pieces of music that could stand alone. It’s a snapshot “Infrared Roses” from later in the 1990s, which finds the band tilting toward a chill ambience. 

Once again, I’m very impressed by this 1994 Grateful Dead. There’s a whole lot of getting there in “Drums > Space” segments – but when The Dead do find their way to somewhere, they know it, and these are some of the cool splaces they found in March 1994. I believe we have Bob Bralove to thank for many of the interesting sounds that the musicians are making here (and elsewhere in the '90s). I'm grateful that The Dead were given a sonic platform on which they could be a Brian Eno-esque jam band. You get only the merest hints of such a thing in earlier decades.

55-minute mp3 mix here (titles of files include source dates)

  • Voices
  • Beat
  • On the Surface
  • The Workers Shall Prevail
  • Roller Rink Confidential
  • Hey, Carl Stalling
  • Spaceport
  • Processional
  • Rebeat
  • Hansa by the Wall 1
  • Hansa by the Wall 2
  • Hansa by the Wall 3
  • May You Live in Interesting Times

Advisory: There is some wild left/right channel oscillation on several tracks, which is effective on speakers but unpleasant on head-phones.
17 responses
my dropbox is full but, my first GD show was March 1994 - I am dying to hear your Space-Drums mix!!!! I can send a USB flash drive your way and will pay for postage for you to send it back. Please. chuck in az
Chuck in AZ - Wow, I'm blown away by your interest in this music, but that's a pretty complicated sharing scenario. Why not just take your flash drive to a local friend and grab it through their account?
please do more of these space mixes. they are my favorite of all the ones you have done...when i saw shows, drums/space was break time for me (like many people) but when listening these days, especially with anything '92 and later, it's often the highlight.
Kumori, I hope to make some more mixes like this.
Back in less wildly spent youth I was a fan of the Christian vocal band Take 6. Their song "Something Within Me" (from their second record, So Much 2 Say) is, I believe, the source of the "I thank my god" vocal sample in "Voices." As a new Dead appreciator I have so little to contribute that I was quite thrilled to recognize this little bit. Thanks so much for this amazing site.
Jason, amazing! Listening to it on Youtube now.
I'm glad, John. :-) I got into the Dead about a month ago at age 46 after trying on and off for years. The hook for me was the podcast 36 From The Vault, which is going through the Dick's Picks series. For whatever reason, while listening to DP#1 I finally made the emotional connection I'd lacked before. I've been continuing with that series and more. Then I stumbled onto your site and let's just say our home has been filled with your Dead and Mothers mixes ever since.
Jason, this is a great story! I'm gratified to be one of your pathfinders - and that you're really digging those two Mothers mixes. All of that music was a magical discovery to me last year, after being a Mothers/selective-Zappa fan for decades. I hope all this music isn't driving others in your house nuts.
Final comment: Since you have a bunch of jazz stuff on here, I'll point out the show I've been making for the past 13 years, The Jazz Session. More than 500 interviews with improvising musicians. http://thejazzsession.com
8 visitors upvoted this post.