Grateful Dead: Scarlet > Fire 1981

Here’s a 52-minute slice of 1981 “Scarlet > Fire,” comprising three unreleased performances. The mighty 3/10/81 MSG version is presented in full. Two more are presented as instrumental edits. Segues weave it all into a non-stop experience that goes like this:

Scarlet Begonias > Fire on the Mountain > Scarlet Jam > Fire Jam > Scarlet Jam > Fire Jam.

Which is to say three transitions!

I was turned on to these performances by a crowd-sourcing tweet I sent out, because I was on a S>F binge and wanted to check out some unknown (to me) versions from years I don’t know very well. Thanks to all who participated. If people enjoy this, I’ll look into samplers from more years (when I can handle listening to more of these songs again). 

52-minute mp3 mix zipped up here

  • Scarlet Begonias > Fire on the Mountain (3/10/81 - MSG)
  • Scarlet Jam > Fire on the Mountain (instr. edit) (5/15/81 - Rutgers)
  • Scarlet Jam > Fire on the Mountain (instr. edit) (9/12/81 - Greek)