Grateful Dead: Out of Nowhere Jams 1976

This mix gathers up Easter eggs that the Dead scattered across their 1976 shows. The title and track list come from this Dead Essays/Light Into Ashes guide

It’s quite a trip to know you’re listening to 1976, yet all you’re hearing are big, extremely-together, nimble, out-of-nowhere jams. The fullness of the the manifestation confuses your inner-ear timeline.

The jams come in many flavors, and some taste quite quite a bit like Tighten Up, Stronger Than Dirt, and Dark Star. Fire on the Mountain makes its first live Dead appearance as Happiness is Drumming. The other passages are entirely their own trips.

This mix contains 16 tracks, including some vigorous Playin’ jams from the same shows and instrumental edits of two Wheels and a Wharf Rat that were integral to the surprise trips.

83-minute mp3 mix zipped up here

13 responses
I've had 1976 on my mind lately. It's a year that frustrates the hell out of me because there's stuff like these jams (which I'm gonna start digging into now that I've been reminded they're here!), but a lot of the short first-set-type songs (many of which are repeated at seemingly every show) just blur together for me. I haven't gone back to the June 1976 box for precisely that reason -- so much interesting stuff in the second sets, but it's dragged down by the other material. I think it was the official release that finally made me understand people who are impatient and just want them to get to the second set already. Anyway, I'm not sure if you have any 1976 projects in the works, but I feel like this is a year that just begs for the Save Your Face treatment. There are some pretty big gaps in the official discography, but also enough shows they've released in full that you could just ignore those. :)
you know, I've heard this so many times... so many times... I just had to give you some friendly thanks. Wonderful work you are doing here. Thanks again
Harko! Thanks for the comment. Like you, my mind is blown by this collection of unrepresentative 1976 music. 90% of the credit goes to the source noted in my post; I just DJ'ed the music they drew a map to.
10 visitors upvoted this post.