Grateful Dead: Florida, April 1994

How good could The Grateful Dead be on a bad night, or across a string of mediocre shows? This mix answers that question for the Florida shows that closed the band’s 1994 Spring tour (April 4, 6, 7, and 8).

The tour from late February through March was strong, with great traditional and MIDI performances. However, by the time they hit Florida in early April, Garcia’s voice was shot, and the band just sounded tired. Easy songs were lazy, and tricky songs struggled. 

Nonetheless, as is true of other periods of live Dead, sloppy songsmanship doesn’t correlate to the quality of the collective playing once the song structures are left behind. In these Florida excerpts, you can hear the musical health and adventurous spirit of the 1994 band, in the midst of shows that I don’t recommend you listen to in full. 

There are no fancy segues on this mix, though I’ve tried to make a decent listening arc out of the pieces. It’s basically a big jam, with some song-stops – most notably a very nice “The Wheel.”

80-minute mp3 mix zipped up here

  • Shakedown Street jam (4/7/94) 7:04
  • Eyes of the World instrumental > (4/7/94) 17:14
  • Playin’ in the Band (4/7/94) 9:05
  • Jam out of Terrapin (4/4/94) 3:57
  • Slipknot! > (4/4/94) 7:05
  • Franklin’s Tower (4/4/94) 11:10
  • Jam out of Terrapin (4/7/94) 9:43
  • The Wheel (4/6/94) 6:41
  • Not Fade Away (4/4/94) 9:25



    16 responses
    Very glad to see you back! Unfortunately I'm not able to download anything. I click the link, it takes me to the folder, I click on the folder, it takes me to a list of the songs, I click on a song, and it says ".mp3 files can't be previewed from an archive file." At no point am I seeing a download option. Is anyone else experiencing this issue? It's very bizarre. I've never had problems in the past.
    Tom, see the comments by user "Gren Nation" on this post: http://saveyourface.posthaven.com/grateful-dead... I think he had the same issue and found a solution. From my end, everything is loaded as a zipped file.
    Thanks very much for this, John! Wish I could arrange some sort of equitable hazard-pay for your efforts to find 80 minutes of material out of these 4 gigs! The instrumental Eyes edit was a revelation that I don't recall at all. The second post-Terrapin jam also caught my attention and I do agree about that version of "The Wheel." Seems like that song was one of the first to fall apart on a bad evening, but they remain mostly firm on this version. Thanks again!
    t, you're very welcome. I'll take just about any lead, when it comes to the Dead. There are so many shows... And, yeah, "The Wheel" was often a mess, pretty playing colliding with bellowing vocals. I'm glad to have heard the end of the '94 Spring tour, so now I can launch into the summer tour!
    100% agree about this "Eyes" being a revelation. Some beautiful jamming in there!
    Glad that people are digging the "Eyes." It's so long and easy-going, I thought people might find it to be a snooze. But it swings so nicely, compared to the chunky/thumpy character of so many versions.
    John, the "incognito window" trick solved my downloading issues. So strange. But so glad to have you back -- looking forward to digging into these mixes. That October '94 set was a revelation!
    Your work with these 1994 samplers is a revelation. If any year was crying out for a shortlist treatment, its 1994. It may STILL be THE worst year for this band, but your work is making me feel a lot better about it. In particular, this Florida run represents my first interaction with these guys live and in person. Yessir, my first show (4/3) was cancelled, the next night (4/4) we got residually gassed, and the next show (4/6) I was mail-ordered straight to the front row, directly in front of Mr. Garcia himself. I've tried listening to these shows before, but its not a easy "job". This to-the-point mix serves up all anyone needs to know about this run. I commend you in particular on this Florida shortlist and indeed on the rest of them!
    Matt May, thanks for the big compliment, and how cool that the Florida run was the one that mattered most to you. It is certainly the lowest percentage of minutes I've pulled from any run, and it's a weirdo track sequence - so, thanks for blessing it! Very cool (and/or sad) to hear what the audience experience was like, but who cares with your front-row Garcia night!
    7 visitors upvoted this post.