Grateful Dead: First Night in Greensboro (3/31/1991)

This mix presents 80 minutes from the first night of the Dead’s 1991 two-show run in Greensboro, NC. The second night is curated separately, here (same cover art).

I haven’t previously offered a mixtape from this show, because two of the most outstanding songs (Samson and Eyes) were released as filler on Dick’s Picks 17: September 21, 1991 Boston. The Samson is incendiary, and the long Eyes is both wonderful overall and has a truly magnificent passage; between the first and second vocal sections, Hornsby finds a magical riff, Jerry and the band latch on for Hornsby’s extended solo, and then Jerry delivers a great “flute” solo that is loud enough in the soundboard mix to really kick, for once. (When he turned on that effect, he almost aways got quieter than his natural sound.)

I am offering up a mixtape of the show now, because I’m going through all the shows I actually saw (merely 11) and discovering the best stuff I witnessed. The next night in Greensboro delivered the “Dark Star” I’d been waiting for, and this first night gave me the extraordinary “Eyes” to match. Big numbers checked off.

Never knew ’til now that I caught a notable, short “Might as Well” resurgence, or that the second half of this “Around and Around” was something I’d prize 30 years later.

More comments on the performance and the Hornsby/Welnick era below the track list.

80-minute mp3 mixtape here

  • West LA Fadeaway
  • Cassidy
  • Samson & Delilah
  • Eyes of the World >
  • Playin’ in the Band
  • The Wheel >
  • Around & Around
  • Might As Well

More talking: 

I am ambivalent (song by song) about the Hornsby/Welnick keyboard double-up. Hornsby was as wonderful a keys player as any they had, and I’m a committed Welnick fan in the 1994-ish moment (and credit both his and the drummers’ restraint for the magic of the band’s final “sound”). 

However, there’s often too much going on in the overlap period, with Hornsby playing an actual piano forcing Welnick’s sounds into unpleasant places, to keep him distinct from everyone else playing chords and fills into the collective, mid-range-frequency, -rhythm, -harmonics zone. (“Nice solo, Vince, but what instrument are they making you play?” But also, it is not a bit worse than that f*cking accordion.)

All that said, the too-many-players issue was often not an issue at all, resolving itself into a sonic slab that is quite exhilarating and distinct, as on this “West LA Fadeaway.” And a lot of the time, everyone was so respectful of each other that you have no visceral sense of two keyboards (and Weir, and two drummers) getting crowded. For example, this “Eyes.”

People complain about Welnick’s “tones,” and I get that, but I also think these people are talking primarily about 1991-1992, rather than his post-Hornsby playing. (e.g., the best of 1993-1994)

As the post-Hornsby, solo keyboardist, Welnick chose more natural piano sounds for the most of his playing, displayed his jazzy harmonic instincts all over the place, and become a nuanced accompanist who didn’t insert the constant aggro-horny energy of Brent Mydland. He was restrained and thoughtful. 

Welnick was relegated to the texture guy, the sheets-of-synths-guy, for a couple of years, then he got his shot as a full participant in a smaller combo, and I think he made his mark. So, this mixtape from a ’91 show is more about Hornsby than Welnick. Just saying, don’t shoot off your mouth about Welnick until you’ve done all the listening homework. 


13 responses
Thanks, as always for posting these. And I agree that Vince doesn't get his fair due-- both for helping to keep the band going in the later years and because of how strong his harmony vocals were.
DC, I don't know about how Welnick "helped the band keep going " in the later years. (?) I'm mostly just a listener, and I know that Welnick's musical contributions and influence on the collective sound are not regularly considered. My perception of the final years is that the whole band, other than Garcia, had become a finely tuned - on-point yet highly-flexible - unit, in order to surround Garcia. Ready to ride Garcia's lead and also ready to carry the show if Garcia wasn't leading.
Thank you for this thoughtful write-up. Couldn’t agree more. Todd Carey Www.Twitter.Com/ToddCarey Www.Instagram.Com/ToddCarey Www.toddcareymusic.com Mgmt@ToddCareyMusic.Com > On Jun 27, 2021, at 10:56 PM, Posthaven Posts wrote: > > 
Hey John, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for the mixes you've created and shared over the years. I appreciate your generosity. You've really helped me to find the moments from the 80s and 90s that I really didn't have the patience or fortitude to find myself. The sweet spot for me is pre retirement but I've found more to like from 1976 than I thought was possible. I think I knew that there was music from the 80s and 90s that was worth listening to and you've helped me with a better appreciation for that long time period, in particular the last year. In regard to that and this post about the dual keyboards, I agree with you. Vince was kind of lost until Bruce left and he could find his place in the sound. I feel like he was a much more generous and supportive musician, in particular supportive of Jerry as his skills declined, than he is given credit for. Anyway, this is my rambling way of just saying thanks for your time and efforts and for helping me expand my Dead music universe a bit more. David
David, I appreciate this comment very much. My later-years (later-decades!) mixes document my own journey of discovery and appreciation. Vince is definitely under-appreciated as a player and as an element in a new/cool collective sound. I'd guess that's partly a matter of the band's inconsistency at the time and partly the new-guy-resentment syndrome - like Jason Newsted ("newkid") in Metallica.
I saw my first shows in 1977 and 1978, then went 7 years before seeing the band again. And, yeah, by 1985 there was QUITE a difference. Saw them through the late 80s, then in 1990, 1992 (actually left at intermission, the show was so dull) and one last time at 3 Rivers Stadium in June 1995. I've taken many of your collections and put them together in one playlist. With a long crossfade, it makes for an interesting flow from one era to another and one mood to another.
7 visitors upvoted this post.