Grateful Dead “Days Between” (unreleased 1993 rehearsal edit)

This is an 11:32 edit of two unreleased rehearsal takes of “Days Between” from the same sessions that provided the recording used on the “So Many Roads” compilation. These two come from 2/10/93. The motivation for the edit was just to have another really good version of the song to listen to.

I don’t think anyone will fight me, if I say that “Days Between” was the giant among The Grateful Dead’s final batch of songs, built on a musical logic all its own. Its closest kin is probably “Stella Blue.” Unfortunately, there aren’t that many live performances that nail both the vocals and the music.

I made this a while ago, so I can’t recall how many different pieces of the two takes I collaged to build the song-section of the track. Maybe three. That edit flows into a long, heavy jam that concluded one of the versions, and which is quite different from the “So Many Roads” one. At the conclusion, you’ll hear Garcia comment, “Coming along!”

mp3 download here

  • Days Between (edit, 2/10/93, Club Front)

Cover art adapted from a Barnett Newman painting.


9 responses
This is now my preferred version. Thank you, nice work as always. I've updated my version of the last album with this. [Side note: 1970 acoustic Dead is moving along nicely. I have a track list. Narrowing down to the best performances. Unfortunately soundboards for that year are spotty and not always well recorded. The challenge will be to make it sound coherent. The real work now begins.]
UncaDan, wow! I'm so glad this made you so happy. Keep on truckin' with the acoustic Dead disc. I'm definitely an ignorant audience eager for that one!
Nice post visit here to know the complete information of windows 10 operating system. https://windows10download.xyz/
Nice post visit here to know the complete information of windows 10 operating system.
5 visitors upvoted this post.