Grateful Dead: Chapel Hill ’93 (March 24-25, 1993)

This mix provides 78 minutes of music from the two shows that made me stop attending Dead concerts.

Making this mix, I’ve concluded that a significant part of what turned me off those two nights was the mix. 

I went into the shows predisposed to be disappointed (but ready to be turned on). I’d only seen Vince on solo keys twice before (and still missed Brent), I had no interest in new songs, and I was hoping for a very different setlist, based on what I’d never seen performed live. 

And I also hated Garcia’s lyric lapses in the period; when a song was going great, I’d still be on pins and needles wondering whether he was going to remember the first line of the next verse.

For all those reasons, the Chapel Hill shows were disappointing. But those things don’t matter in 2021, when you’re curating tapes, and you’ve come to know and love the late-period band and memorized 60 hours of their best tracks. 

However, there’s that other dependency: Is the mix any good? Pleasing to listen to?

I didn’t remember much about the music of the Chapel Hill shows, but I did remember the sonic, aesthetic experience. The music seemed insubstantial and unfocussed. It was hard to inhabit.

My pal and I attributed that to the band, but listening to the tapes, I think it was the guy at the mixing board who created the estranging experience. 

There are the usual, random Healy failures. One night, Garcia’s vocals are quiet and Welnick’s keys are too loud. The other night, Welnick is often hard to hear, even when he’s soloing. Sometimes Weir’s guitar is too loud.

But even when nothing like that is obvious, there’s a hard-to-put-your-finger on lack of balance, dynamics, presence… The “Terrapin” seems to be played well, but everything delicate about it is trampled by the mix, etc. The players are playing together, but Healy has built little walls between them.

So, I had to kill a lot of seemingly very nice performances to make a mixtape that you can “get into” properly. As always, I tried to hide the defects to the point where you might not notice them (if I hadn't drawn attention to them!). I think the result is quite enjoyable, though not the first 1993 Save Your Face mixtape I’d point you at.

I post it nonetheless, as part of my journey through all the shows I actually attended. Points of interest include:

  • An exquisite, entirely-on-point Crazy Fingers with a long jam
  • A nice example of this period’s “Jam Out of Terrapin”
  • The only Spanish Jam of 1993
  • An extended jazzy zone with the Space excerpt (Garcia/Weir!) and the Eternity edit
  • Garcia's “trumpet” on “Women Smarter”

78-minute mp3 mixtape zipped up here

  • New Minglewood Blues
  • Big River
  • Lazy River Road
  • Man Smart, Women Smarter
  • Playin’ in the Band
  • Crazy Fingers
  • Spanish Jam >
  • Goin’ Down the Road Feelin’ Bad
  • Jam After Terrapin
  • Space excerpt
  • Eternity (instr. edit)
  • Liberty 


13 responses
Your impression of the shows is really interesting to me. They are usually well-regarded among 1993 shows. I'm not well versed in that year, and while I have heard these (I went to UNC. Had to check them out) it's been a long time. Looking forward to listening, as with all your mixes.
Hey, Elkdog! I was at Duke! The first night, Healy let all the tapers hook into the soundboard, so this show was widely traded and heard immediately. So, at the time, and for a while, it was probably one of the only 1993 soundboards anyone had, and everyone had it.
Oh, that's interesting. So the wide circulation surely enhanced the reputation of those shows. I work at Duke now, btw.
My biggest memory of these shows was my buddy sneaking down to the lower bowl, not for better seats, but to shout at Healy to turn it up.
What were the first two shows you saw with Vince on solo keys?
Jake, THESE shows were my first Vince solo keys shows! I'd only seen Vince *at all* twice before (Greensboro '91). So, that's an error in the above notes.
Hey now. Thanks for posting this! All of your mixes are incredible. Just so kind. This weekend was/were my first show(s). I was supposed to make it to both but my buddy's car flooded and we had to wait a day for it to dry out, then made the trip from VA to make the 3/25 show. I was 19 and listened to a lot of tapes from every era but was new to the live experience. Your notation confirms what has been a lifelong wondering for me... WHAT WAS HAPPENING WITH THE SOUND?! I mean we all had "those nights" with the Dead (I went on to see Richfield fall '93, spring '94 Richfield and summer '94. I quit because of Highgate VT) ~ But I remember just how porous, metallic, and distant the band in the room sounded on 3/25. It didn't help (or did it?) that I'd taken a heroic dose of white blotter but when I poured myself in to the Dean Dome I arrived to hear a band beyond description - and that description might have been like listening to a toy model of a tiny broken down machine with missing gears. The set was riddled with new songs (including the now in hindsight marvelous Lazy River Road) that really threw me off (like WTF did I actually go to the wrong concert) but you nailed it... the sound WAS f'ed up. A truly toxic recipe for my Dead-virgin brainpan. Later among friends I admitted that I didn't enjoy the show, and I had wanted to love it SO BAD. Now granted a cosmic door did open during the "jam out of Terrapin" which you so kindly included here... and then freefall into a giant alien operating room where mechanical surgery performed by insectile terrors rendered my earthly life meaningless as my infantile senses were spun down through The Other One and deposited on the sparkling desolate shores of Morning Dew. I couldn't leave my seat when the band finished The Weight and after the house lights came up and the stage hands were striking chairs I finally was urged by my friend to leave as we followed a procession of bleary zombies out a lower fire door exit to find an open ambulance waiting confirming that I had in fact died that night. Thanks again for the memories, John.
6 visitors upvoted this post.