Gang of Four: Live Entertainment 1979 (Spotify Playlist)

In 2020, Gang of Four made a large number of 1979-1995 live recordings available to stream on Spotify and purchase on Amazon.com.

This Spotify playlist curates the 1979 recordings - one version each of the 20 songs represented on that year’s tapes. It’s the bootleg I’d have chewed my leg off (paid $20) for back around 1979.

The first 12 tracks are the complete 2/24/79 Nashville Ballrooms, London set, which is the earliest, best sounding, and most amazing of the tapes. It documents the band four months after the release of their initial single and ahead of the recording of their first album. 

Eight songs that weren’t in the February London set are picked up from two other dates. 

Stream on Spotify here

2/24/79 Nashville Ballroom, London (full set)

  • I Found that Essence Rare
  • 5:45
  • Anthrax
  • Elevator
  • Hold Up My Weekend
  • Armalite Rifle
  • It’s Her Factory
  • Glass
  • Damaged Goods
  • Ether
  • At Home He’s a Tourist 
  • Return the Gift

8/25/79 Toronto - The Edge

  • Contract (early show)
  • Not Great Men (early show)
  • Guns Before Butter (late show)
  • Rosanne (late show)
  • Can’t Stand My Baby (late show)

11/22/79 Bournemouth Town Hall

  • Blood Free
  • Natural’s Not In It
  • Information
16 responses
A download of this collection would be freaking beautiful!
John, I'm pretty sure you can buy all the albums and individual tracks on Amazon and perhaps elsewhere, if you prefer to have your own files.
I didn’t realize these live cuts were commercially available...I’ve bought pretty much everything they’ve released and wasn’t aware of these! Thanks for the heads up, John!
I did find these on Amazon. Thank you for the tip, John!
Excellent!
Always appreciate the non Dead posts here. These live shows are on Apple Music as well. I made a playlist below not 100% sure this works and you have to have Apple Music to listen: https://music.apple.com/us/playlist/saveyourfac...
Also available here to purchase as flac files or stream in higher fidelity: https://www.qobuz.com/us-en/interpreter/gang-of...
This Gang of Four playlist on Spotify is empty
Hywel, it is still there when I click the link in the post (on a web browser) as well as in the Spotify app.
All I get is a playlist by ‘badger’ called ‘live entertainment 1979’ with no tracks and 16 likes. Maybe it’s because I’m in the UK as the Matador picks playlist is also empty?
It seems none of the live archival tracks are on Spotify here…
They are on Amazon.com, but not amaon.co.uk
The Spotify playlist is empty on the iTunes app, but shows on the pc app, although it doesn’t play as the tracks are ‘greyed out’. I’ll have to email Matador for info. Sorry to trouble you!
3 visitors upvoted this post.