Shortlist: Pyramid Scheme - November 20-24, 1978

I decided to listen to all the Keith & Donna era “Shakedown Streets" (they overlapped for about five months), and it led me to this two-hour mix, pulled from four consecutive concerts. It simulates an almost non-stop jam that would have been nice to hear in Egypt, next to the pyramids and the Sphinx, on a starry night in the Fall of 1978. (The actual Egypt shows were a month earlier.)

Each of these shows featured an unorthodox second set sequence with carefully-crafted connections. “Shakedown Street” was brand new at this point (these are the 5th, 6th, and 7th performances), a second set song that they jammed into and out of. That song and the Middle Eastern motifs running through these shows precipitated some very interesting passages, even managing to pry “Fire on the Mountain” free of “Scarlet Begonias” one of only two times between March 1977 and October 1980. Rounding out this moment in live Dead, I’ve included the exceptionally rare “If I Had the World to Give” (3rd and final performance) and Donna’s “From the Heart of Me,” both featured on the studio album, “Shakedown Street,” released the week before these shows. This mix is very much the opposite of that album.

Two-hour mp3 mix here

11/24/78 Passaic, NJ

  • From the Heart of Me
  • Estimated Prophet >
  • Shakedown Street (instrumental edit) >
  • Ollin Arageed >
  • Fire on the Mountain (instrumental edit)

11/23/78 Landover, MD

  • Dancin’ in the Street (instrumental edit)
  • Playin’ Jam >
  • Egyptian Space >
  • Shakedown Street > Approach to Playin’

11/20/78 Cleveland, OH

  • Playin’ Jam >
  • Shakedown Street (instrumental edit) >
  • If I Had the World to Give
  • Supplication (instrumental edit)

11/21/78 Rochester, NY

  • Drums > Space >
  • Not Fade Away (instrumental edit)
11 responses
This is one of the mixes I keep coming back to. Some phenomenal playing, absolutely love the jammed out Shakedowns and the spacey Egyptian-style jams
Michael, I'm glad you feel this way! I'm still a bit of newbie to '78 literacy, but the aspects you point to in this Fall stuff is what captivated me way back when, and I was happy to compress those elements into this mix. I'm still bummed that Garcia's voice broke before he could really belt out "Shakedown."
The Cleveland show was exceptional and the If I had the World still moves me brightly each time I hear it. Bonnie Prince Billy’s version on Day of the Dead is well worth checking out if previously unheard. Thanks for the tunes.
8 visitors upvoted this post.