Shortlist: October 25, 1973 – Madison, WI

Zipped up file of mp3s here

53 minutes:

  • Here Comes Sunshine
  • China Cat Sunflower > I Know You Rider
  • Weather Report Suite
  • Playin’ in the Band jam

48 minutes:

  • Dark Star (including Mind Left Body) >
  • Space >
  • Eyes of the World >
  • Stella Blue

In addition to the great performance, this soundboard features a superb mix, including the vocals. There's only one excessively sour harmony moment in "Here Comes Sunshine." (The cut around the 9 minute point of "Playin'" was in my source.)

Dick Latvala discussed this show in his best of 1973 list:

Now we get to one of the all-time, out-of-this-world kind of shows: 10/25/73. I really can't say enough about this one! The first set is very good, but it is the second set that does you in. 

The "China Cat->Rider" is one of the better ones from that era when they used that transition material that people call "Tighten Up" and other names, and I am just as confused about this as the next guy. So, a detailed discussion about that wonderful "jam" occurring towards the ends of some "Dark Stars" from 1969 and 1970, (and which is stated as beautifully as I could ever hope to hear on 4/8/72- Wembley) and which also could be occasionally intimated during some versions of "Dancing in the Streets", that kind of discussion is something that I would like to learn more from some of you guys who have been investigating this. 

But not right now, since I need to finish gushing all over this Madison show. The "Dark Star->Eyes->Stella Blue" is where the action is! There are "jams" surrounding these songs that contain some very, very scary and unbelievable playing. A bass sound that Phil employs here will pretty much have you seriously thinking that this might be too much! Obviously, words will never get this described very well, at least not my words. The "Eyes" is another one of those "best versions" type of things.

10 responses
Hi, John - "discovered" your blog only a few weeks ago; love the concept and the execution is even better! Nice to see some non-GD stuff showing up recently as well, but the Dead stuff I've heard so far is really great. Have been loving those "Blues for Allah" rehearsals and the Madison show above. Also, A non-musical question: I really like a lot of the artwork you use here, but was really taken with the piece above. Hard to figure out what's going on, how it was done, etc, but just a lovely "feel" to it. Could you possibly let me know who the artist is? Thanks in advance. Happy 4th! Thanks for all the good sounds.....
Supersonic: I am remiss in not crediting all the artists. This one and several others are by Saul Steinberg (1914-1999), one of my favorite artists in any category, who was best known as the artist of many "New Yorker" covers. There are several great, big books of his work available. Thanks for letting me know that my mixes are paying off for you. Knowing that people are out there digging them makes me really happy. Happy 4th to you as well!
Hi, John- Thanks very much for the info; I really appreciate it. I have a feeling that I'm somewhat acquainted with Steinberg's work (mostly via New Yorker covers, as you'd mentioned) but will definitely look into his art more deeply. Beautiful blog and great music; thanks so much again!
Hi John - I discovered this website around thanksgiving 2021 and - Boy Howdy... A holy grail for my ears that warms my whole body! I have listened to maybe a dozen of your re-ventions and am amazed that your choosing (or distilling) ability is as awesome as your audio editing ability - which sometimes feels impossibly seamless! I fell into this Madison "Only the Hight Points" edit of 10-25-73 because, well, it's '73 and fall '73 at that! I can see why DL was so taken with it. I love the frightful 73 intensity of the post Mind Left mind melt and how it so comfortably slides into those first few driplets of Eyes (another one of those "best versions" type of things to be sure.) And the last Stella solo - building out of quiet then succinctly peaking to a perfect end! Yes! I think I'll have another!
Bart, thank you so much for your comment! Feedback like this makes it more fun to make the mixes. I haven't listened to this one in a long time, and you've persuaded me that I should!
5 visitors upvoted this post.