Imaginary Final Single: If the Shoe Fits/Childhood’s End (October 1994)

“If the Shoe Fits” debuted on 6/9/94 and “Childhood’s End” on 7/20/94 – the last two original Grateful Dead songs to enter the live repertoire, both written and sung by Phil Lesh.

If you want to get to know these songs, and possibly come to love them, these are definitely the droids you’re looking for. 

I think I’ve checked out all circulating soundboards and audience recordings, and these two soundboard performances/recordings were the giant, obvious needles in the archive haystack. (It's conceivable that one or both of these made it into The Dead's periodic free single-song download series, but I have no complete list of those downloads. 10/1/94 is the only complete concert The Dead have released from that year.)

This is part of my ongoing project to find outstanding versions of all The Dead’s final compositions, which started with this March 1994 anthology.

mp3 single here

  • If the Shoe Fits (10/19/94)
  • Childhood’s End (10/3/94)
  • If the Shoe Fits (8/3/94 audience recording, Japanese edition bonus track)

As I understand it, Lesh (and perhaps the others) felt that new songs would help fuel Garcia engagement in a period when Jerry was headed in the same direction as in the mid-1980s, when his drugged-out-bad-health put him in a coma that he narrowly survived – living on to drive the 1989-onward renaissance of the band. In the 1995 remake, Jerry died. The big musical difference between those two episodes is that everyone else in the band had their shit together in 1994, whereas the whole band was a mess in 1986. 

My general take on Welnick Dead, so far, is that they are not to be dismissed – a band that had stopped depending on Garcia’s leadership to determine the musical outcome, but who were always therefore also ready when Garcia was feeling spry. Weir has said something to that effect. And when Garcia was feeling spry, it was just as you would wish it to be.

“Shoe Fits” is a rocker that The Dead wore very comfortably on a number of occasions, Lesh singing an uncharacteristically aggressive lyric effectively. “Childhood’s End” was harder for The Dead to navigate, a twisty second cousin to “Unbroken Chain.” 


10 responses
Several projects of yours which I've come across are things I seriously pondered doing for myself. I'm not being like, "I could've done this"...in fact I'm certain I would have done a comparatively poor job. Rather, I'm saying, it is so fun to have found these projects...not to be melodramatic, but, it's like literally a dream come true! For this "If the Shoe Fits" as a Single project, I am glad there were a couple of versions that stood out as being probably the definitive versions of these songs, because when I pondered seeking out the best versions for myself, I didn't know where to start. What do you think about this Phil song I've read about, called "Keep On Growin' "? Apparently the crowd's general impression was that it sucked! But it's hard to believe there's a Phil song without value. Especially considering the undervalued songs you've presented here. And also considering my personal experience with a certain other obscure late-period Phil song, "Wave to the Wind". Laugh if you like, but I'm being honest here, check this out... I had read, repeatedly, that "Wave to the Wind" was simply despised. It seems somehow that this song was received as being utterly BAD. As in, "Oh, GOD, Phil is hitting us with some AWFUL maudlin sound-alike to the loungey theme song of the TV show 'The Love Boat'! What's this corny torture session all about? Let's petition the band to ditch this tune! FOREVER!" And so, it seems the song was straight-up condemned by the vocal majority of the audience, and "Wave to the Wind" is now generally found in the sewer, hanging around with "Money Money". Well, by chance, I was simply not familiar with this "Love Boat" TV show (probably total crap); and I was equally unfamiliar with its cheeseball theme song. And so it was that one day, by clicking on something by accident, I finally heard "Wave to the Wind". "What's this?? ...a Phil song... ...yes, a fully formed Phil Song! ...a PHIL SONG, one that I haven't heard before! ...and it's a propulsive, energetic Phil song... ...has a vague resemblance to "Eyes", and lyrics with a sweet and positive vibe... ...jazzy Major7 chords and a funky complexity, somehow urgent and deeply chill at the same time...it's intense! And I really like this song! I've uncovered ANOTHER GREAT PHIL SONG!!! Ha, I don't care what they think, I'll Wave to the Wind with Phil any day!" So I have struggled to see the negative side of it, and I can't. Perhaps I am missing something; perhaps there were bad versions I haven't heard...but I feel that really, this is ALL just because of an unfortunate resemblance to an annoying song, which sort of poisoned the listeners in advance--forced them to perceive a smarmy, sleazy, loungey mood in the song! This tainted feeling distracted people, ruined the song. What they missed was a tripping-heavily-in-nature, sincere-personal-spiritual-quest-song--that's what suddenly presented itself to me, that lucky day. I mean it, I was lucky to stumble upon it. Therefore, I still have not listened to this Love Boat song...I mean, I'd like to compare them, it is probably funny...but instead, I'll protect my experience of the song--I'll easily just skip making any part of that annoying connection. To me, "Wave to the Wind" is a great (and truly LOST) Phil Lesh original song. Could there have been a "Wave to the Wind" single? Maybe with "Keep On Growin'" as the b-side? (...or does "Keep On Growin' " actually BELONG in the garbage?)...I wonder what your thoughts are on this topic. Anyways, thanks again for the excellent project you did here. These songs deserved this appreciative treatment. --Ryan
Keep On Growin' is a Derek and the Dominoes song. Don't Blame Phil.
8 visitors upvoted this post.