Grateful Dead: New Year’s ’77 (Jarnow Road Trip)

I’ve been neglecting The Grateful Dead, so I’m going to exploit a guest DJ.

Jesse Jarnow (@bourgwick) is the only person I know who has set out to listen to every Grateful Dead concert in chronological order. On his 40-year delay, he reached the end of 1977 a week ago. In a couple of decades, he will be the King Deadhead; no one else will be able to claim to have gone to every show, in order, and live-tweeted it. 

Jarnow shared his ideal setlist from the 1977 New Year’s Winterland run, and I’ve edited it together here. Thrilling. First "China > Rider" since October 1974.

100-minute mp3 mix here (source dates included in title tags)

  • Mississippi Half-Step
  • Dire Wolf
  • Passenger
  • Row Jimmy
  • Estimated Prophet >
  • Eyes of the World
  • China Cat Sunflower > I Know You Rider >
  • China Doll >
  • Playin’ Jam
  • Scarlet Begonias >
  • Fire on the Mountain
  • Terrapin Station

I think the cover photo is actually from the Dead New Year’s show exactly 10 years later. I just wanted a good balloon drop, and that's what the search engine handed me. Here's an actual photo from the run:


8 responses
Thanks again for these. I've been mining your site for a while now. Love the Cheap Trick mixes. Still working my way through the Dylan post. I had this idea. Is it possible to recreate the Terrapin Station album from soundboards? As much as I like the album I was never real keen on heavy orchestration. Always wanted a more stripped down version. Looking forward to digesting the VU
Uncle Dan, I'll forward your query to Jesse Jarnow, who is the more qualified person to respond to your Live Terrapin question. (Very happy to hear that you're into the Cheap Trick compilations!)
Cool, thanks so much. I know they only played the full suite once on 03/18/77 so I guess that's where we start. I also just found the studio outtakes from 02/20/77 that have the entire album plus two more songs.. The only song I haven't seen a live version yet is Sunrise.
Just a weird question... Is that balloon photo flipped? I did a horizontal flip on it and now it looks right. Phil on the stage right instead of stage left looks more normal, at least to my eyes, and I thought Mickey was always on Bill's left.
4 visitors upvoted this post.